Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


**With THAT sentiment being said , by me, and felt! here I go with my latest discovery..ready? Get set, here i GO!

~I’m getting to the crux of it just trying to set the background up 1st for this line of thought..~

Yep, I’m knocking on the door of becoming 50 years old..and I’m ready! Or so I thought. And then yesterday a good friend of mine was sweeeet enough to let me in on something I had NO clue about..Ready to hear it? And what my response was/IS?…

Well I was having a fabulous chat with a really good friend of mine yesterday..Array of topics but mainly how excited I am about MY upcoming 50th birthday party in July. How I’m going to have a BEAUTIFUL pink & silver cake! Ohhh and I want disco lights; maybe even a strobe light. Anyone out there remember how FUN disco dances used to be? Got an awesome DJ lined up and just putting the finishing touches on my virtual save-the-date announcements ..and then while I’m allll caught UP yapping about this my friend says(I guess he thought it was FUNNY) oh yea, now you’ll be able to be an AARP member! I was still going on and on about my party! Thought I heard him say something about AARP but..and then he said it again. Yapping, laughing, and then WHAT DID YOU SAY? And as he began to say it again I said STOP, wait..and then I fell out laughing. He said NO I’m serious you’ll be eligible at 50 for it. I said, ” I most certainly will NOT be! You have to be 65 or older to be eligible for that.” And then my USED to be gooooood friend said, ” Ok, Ms Google Queen google IT.” And that is exactly what I did…OMFG

*Sigh* I couldn’t google fast enough! Images kept popping UP and I kept searching..I’m a speeeed reader..But I could NOT find not one thing that would dispute that AARP eligibility begins at FIFTY. But, but when did THAT come about??? And what person in their right mind changes the eligibility age?? WAS IT ALWAYS 50 AND NO BODY TOLD ME??? I had a cazillion questions! all at once..I was flustered and HOT all of a sudden(thank YOU  Eve for peri-menopausal symptoms I’ve got to deal with) And then, I was suddenly irked with my friends over 50 yrs of age! HOW COME NOBODY TOLD ME THIS? Wait, I’m not even a grandmother yet! How in the heckkkk can I be eligible for AARP? I can stilllll DO soooo many things! Does this mean I can’t be FLY anymore??!  I can stilll do the splits! I can stilll do a handstand, front forward flip(not a pretty sight when I last tried a backward flip) , somersault, cartwheel, I can stillll RUN(for a little while..more of a fast walk into a full jog and then I run for a little bit), I can still bend & touch my toes! Yeaaaaaaa. I can still dance , and dance and danceeeeeee, I don’t take nor have to take ANY medications..HOW CAN I BE AARP eligible???? Here I was laughing it OFF and my friend thought my response was simply HILARIOUS..but my shock was/is sincere. Was I so caught UP living that I somehow missed this news flash? Was there a memo I missed? I kid ya’ll NOT if ONE thing comes here with MY name on it and the words AARP membership form; I will tear it UP. No, I’m going to burn IT. I refuse! I am not ready for that..Did they start this to get more members or what??? Whats next? 40! OMG I am still trying to wrap my mind around this. I was SO happy about making it to 50..and now this!

**Just like anything else in my life journey, as I’m sure anyone else’s out there , yep! I’ll deal with this reality. It IS what it IS. It is NOT going to stop me from being FLY. Not going to lose my vibe just because I’m AARP eligible..Jeeeez my fingers don’t even want to type that LOL..My birthday party is coming UP and I’m going to party like there is NO tomorrow. I’m elated about making it to 50! My 3 beautiful Black Prince sons are all flying in for my party. A host of other family/friends; and they love me for me as i AM..And because they love ME no one in my world will EVER again mention AARP to me again..Not till I’m good and ready for it!  Until I write/read ya’ll again stay UPlifted & blessed. And as always count your blessings 2day and everyday. 4ever sincere, Berna(the one & ONLY)

>NO matter what age you are, or what your circumstances are, YOU are special!, and YOU have something unique to offer. Your life, because of who YOU are, has meaning~ Quote from Barbara De Angelis<