Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


**”People walk into the BookStore and say ‘Ah, the smell of BOOKS!’, I completely underestimated that element of print books”  Quote from Jamie Fiocco

>>Is the new NORM for society going to be to give IN to things that seem to be more convenient? Anything goes; as long as it is quick!, disposable and easily done in whatever location one might be? On the GO we all go and we have GOT to be able 2 do as much as possible while we’re on the move..Hmmmm lets see if I can present my viewpoint of this with logic and finesse. Topic? Print Books vs E-Books.  Can print and ebooks coexist? Will print books survive the growing popularity of the ebook? WHY  this an important topic or should BE.  Here is the way I see IT…

Yep, I’m old skool in many ways, still! N I make no apologies for it…OLDer isn’t always OLD just simply; BETTER. And I’ll explain why..Ya’ll ready for this?

*I can’t cuddle UP with an Ebook curled UP and fall soundly to sleep. After a day full of  peering into my monitor screen I do NOT want 2 have to do that anymore when finally! I can read whatever I “chose” 2 read(don’t ya’ll eyes get tired by the end of the day after monitor reading ALL day long???? If not, then just call me lazy..but I want to relax all parts of my body at days end..including my eyes!) There is a certain delicious pleasure I get when wandering around Barnes N Noble  for hours.(just did this a couple weekends ago and loved IT) I am one of the many who LOVE the smell and feeeeeel of books; even flipping the pages. (can ya’ll do that with an Ereader?) I dig having a bookshelf or library of old classic books; I’ve even thought about getting an OLD set of encyclopedias before they’re extinct..I like the fact that my BOOKS can’t be instantly poof! gone in the event of a power outage or etc..(can stilll read them in the sunshine/daylight) I can have many different books open at one time and flip back N forth between them(and I’ve done this..) I can pen/pencil/or highlight areas I want to in a BOOK. I can easily jump between sections in a print book. The tranquility of reading a book on a sunny day laying in a hammock in a pair of shorts N tank can’t be replaced by reading on an Ereader(ya’ll ereader lovers ever try that?) If I drop one of my books it won’t break or crack; and I can still read it without having to fix/replace it.  N last but not least I’ve got alot of CUTE personalized bookmarks I can’t use with an Ereader lol! 

**Check out this 2nd opinion I lucked up and found..and I can’t say I disagree with it>

“Call me paranoid, but it strikes me quite forcibly that in “1984” George Orwell went to some lengths to describe frankly quite implausible futuristic technology which made it possible to alter history by altering the records of history. People and events that were seen as politically undesirable could be erased from the records. This was what underpinned the tyranny of Big Brother. With cloud technology, and all our written records increasingly in digital format how long before Orwell’s future dystopia becomes the present for us? I’m keeping my print books! Of course the other development that made tyranny possible was a radical simplification of language to the extent that it became impossible to give expression to ideas of political dissent – of course that will never happen in reality..”

 

*Since the 4th Millennium BC  with the invention of writing printed word has been in existence..Can something that has survived that amount of time truly be a bad thing?!? Page sandwich/Poor man’s booster seat/bathroom t.v./newspapers’ father…call it by any name a BOOK is worth its weight in GOLD.  I’m personally pleased to see the parking lot packed when I frequent the public library..IF we don’t use them they’ll become extinct. There is something to be said about a quiet environment built just to study and learn. READING is truly fundamental..I first learned to read at the age of 3. Or so my Daddy says and I believe him..consequently I passed that love of reading onto my sons. (read to them from the womb and on..) Can an Ereader be passed down to following generations like a good book? Nope! Are we willing to sacrifice ALL of the old traditions we’ve got just for the sake of convenience? How many times recently have we heard or said! that the new norm has no boundaries or limits. WE have a choice and decision in what is proclaimed the new norm..and we can start by keeping some of the old school practices in place. Newspapers are quickly becoming extinct due to online reading…Libraries hours have been reduced due to people buying ebooks..Book prices are soaring to try to make up for the lost profit..(buy a college textbook lately? SKY high) I’ve heard plenty of good arguements to support ebooks over books…But none good enough to break off my love affair with printed books. Since I was a very little girl my Mom told me I could GO anywhere I wanted to by reading a book..N I’ve so enjoyed the many beautiful places books have taken me. Stay UPlifted N blessed. 4ever sincere Berna(the 1 N only)