Tags

, , , , , , ,


Today I felt as if I’d explode if I went a day longer without voting. I just wanted N neeeeded to get it done N over

with. I’d awakened at O’dark thirty, was already showered N dressed for Mass N alll amped UP..Plus the 2 cups of

coffee I had made me feel like I could literally run to the library to vote..but..instead I tried to patiently wait for

my Mom to get ready. We were going to head to Mass after I voted. Now I don’t know why things happen to me that

are ripe for recanting in a story but I swear anything you read from my fingertips..truly happened. So anywayz I

was standing in line outside of the library. As I said I was all amped UP and kept trying to peek over the heads in

front of me to see if the line was moving. It wasn’t. I kept mentally attempting to will the line to move cause I

didn’t want my Mom to have to wait on me. But I reallly reallly wanted to vote N get my “I voted” sticker. Done

deal-cast my vote-cause I am sure the line will be even longer during the week after I get off work. So as I was

standing there all of a sudden behind me I keep  hearing the name of the “other guy that I’d NOT vote for if he was

the only one on the ballot” Over and over this woman kept saying his name. And LOUD. People started rubber

necking trying to see exactly who this was. I could hear her saying”I am going to buy a so & so shirt just like

Susie’s!” “I  can’t wait till so & so wins this election!” and etc etc yada yada. Well I began to feel as if I was hearing

“the other guy’s name moreeee than I’d heard it on the boob tube” And I was sick N tired of hearing it. It took

every ounce of my Christian bearing & physical being not to turn around and say would you shut UP pleaseeeee.

But a. I didn’t want to lose my temper on my way to church! b. I didn’t want to get booted out of the line for

causing a disturbance(as IF her mouth wasn’t one) c. I don’t know how to fight N I didn’t know how sane she

was..So I just started humming to over ride her big mouth. I can’t tell you right now what the heck I was

humming. But I was secretly wishing I had my Iphone headset and I’d have plugged in to my tunes. And then the

line began to move..faster and faster and faster. I could finally see the door of the library. I began to feel

butterflies in my tummy. I could no longer hear the  loud woman’s voice behind me. My entire focus was on the

library door. And a guy kept coming out saying 4 more can come in..etc..I was next in line! I was praying for the

minutes to hurry up so my Mom wasn’t waiting forever. I began to get prepared and took out my license and my

voter card. I was ready! 2nd time in my life I’d get to VOTE for President Barack Obama. 2nd time in my lifetime

I’d voted early for a brother. 2nd time in my life I felt as if  my life depended on this single VOTE. I could see a

woman coming out of the library. A Sista. And she had Obama buttons allll across the front of her shirt . I didn’t

think that was allowed at a polling place. But boy was I glad to see her! I almost ran up to her & hugged her. She

nodded and smiled. And I nodded and shot her a big koooolaid grin. I had my sample ballot gripped in one hand. I

had my purse slung over my shoulder . I had my license and voter card in my other hand. I was ready. And

then..the woman who was behind me said something. Was like a mosquito buzzing around my ear that I just

wanted to SWAT. I was tired of her yapping. And she said LOUDLY I can’t believeeeee they let her in the building

with allll those Obama buttons on. I mean she was LOUD. The entire line of people froze. The Sista froze. I froze. For

a split second I think that Sista thought about clocking that woman. But we locked eyes and I shook my head.

Wasn’t worth it. And this was no little Sista either she’d have probably laid that woman out flat! She smiled at me

again and rolled her eyes at the woman & left. It was my turn to go in..yeaaaaaaaa. I was feeling all flushed and

eager. I wanted to sprint to my voting booth but there were other people in front of me. Slowwww people. Fast

forward..I walked towards the exit doors after voting and got my **I made freeeedom count I voted sticker!* How

such a small piece of paper could bring me such JOY. My vote was cast. My vote would be counted. There was a

record amount of early voters yesterday(even higher than 2008) and I’m sure there was today also. I was ONE of

them. Made me feel like I’d done something for my sons future, my parents future, my future and YOURS. And

even if your voting experience isn’t as “storytellable”(a Bernaism…a word created by Berna) I do hope you enjoy

voting even half as much as I did..Save yourself some time N have your sample ballot filled out prior to heading to

the polls. Takes 2 mins to fill the form out from your sample ballot. Takes far longer N holds the line up with people

who haven’t even read the ballot. We can’t afford to lose  this one. Lets make  our guy the 45th President!